“7”

This is “7: an experimental mutiny against excess” and today was day 1. If you aren’t familiar with the book, well neither was I until my mom’s friend convinced her to read it, after which my mom convinced me, and now we are all sucked into this. Fun. The idea is 7 months, 7 focuses, narrowed to 7 choices. Less stuff, more God. Today was my kickoff and I wish I could claim this was going to be a piece of cake. False. Instead it went something like, “peanuts will turn to peanut butter in my mouth, so I can eat them.” and “I’ll just pick the chicken out of the chicken salad.” Obviously today was a raging success. I did actually redeem myself with chicken seasoned with salt and pepper, steamed spinach, and plain toast, because that is information you desperately needed to know. Sorry. This is going to be hard. And annoying. And transforming. And so very very worth it. At least that’s what Jen (the author) says. So, here I go. Chicken, eggs, spinach, sweet potatoes, apples, peanut butter, wheat bread. You wave a coffee in front of my face and I’ll___________ (insert violent act). One of my favorite quotes from the book and to sum this up, “The careful study of the Word has a goal, which is not careful study of the Word. The objective is to discover Jesus and allow him to change our trajectory.” Time to change my trajectory.

Leave a Reply

