No Hablo Español

After a few days, I am beginning to be settled in my Nicaraguan life. It moves at a much slower pace than home, as there are no church activities to attend, lessons to plan, lunch dates to make, or iphones begging for attention. My day begins around 7, which allows me plenty of time for the perfect cup on Nicaraguan coffee before I leave for Emmanuel at 8:15. My maid, yes maid (her name is Angela) comes to my house right before I leave. She is sweet and motherly and I almost didn’t let her in the first time she came.  I didn’t know who she was or what she was doing at my door at 8 AM, but somewhere between the hand motions and my nearly perfect Spanglish, I was able to figure out they she was supposed to be there…and is supposed to be there 4 days a week. My house has never been more clean. I wish I could spout out a tidy little schedule of my day, but the truth is, I don’t have one. If a baby is crying, I hold her. If the special needs kids need to eat, I feed them. If girls need to be checked to lice or be rid of lice, I check and pick. If toys need to be cleaned, floors need sweeping, girls need a trampoline buddy, or whatever other odd jobs there are, I do them. I eat what the girls eat, I go to the bathroom where they go to the bathroom, and I leave mucho sucio (very dirty) at 5. The Brassfields are so very gracious and welcoming. I usually walk down the road to their house for dinner around 6 and then back to my own after. My days are far from glamourous, but they are full. Full of words I don’t know, full of laughter (mostly girls laughing at me), full of hand-tugging, baby-holding, question-asking life. I like it. A lot. 

One thought on “No Hablo Español

  1. Sounds like you are doing just what the Lord has called you to do.
    What a great opportunity to make a difference in so many lives.

Leave a Reply

