The Best Gift.

My consistency with this blogging thing is well…inconsistent. And I’m okay with that. However, I did promise myself that I would document my missionary journey starting now and this week has most definitely marked itself as part of that journey. On Wednesday, June 18, as my Mom, Dad, and many friends were preparing to spend the next week in Nicaragua on a short-term trip with BMDMI, I was just having a regular day at work. As tough as it was, I had made my peace with staying here in Alabama while sending the team to the place I will one day call home. That changed very quickly when I got a call from the team captain, Norman Stevens, that went something like this- Norman Stevens: “Hi Anna Kate, we have had a team member decide not to go and they would like for you to have their spot next week. Would you be interested?” Me: “Duh! I mean, yes.” (cries) “Let me see if I can get off work.” Norman Stevens: “Okay, I need to know by tomorrow. The cost of the trip is covered entirely if you can go.” Frantically, I checked with my coworkers to make sure I could get off. They were so generous and understanding, telling me of course they would take care of anything that came up at work. I quickly called Mr. Norman back letting him know I would be joining the team. A little more than 48 hours later, I was packed and on my way to the airport. This past week was an incredible gift in so many ways and I was continually taken aback by the generosity of my God and the ways he works in his people. As the week progressed, it became increasingly more evident that God had intended for me to be part of this week. On that same week seven years ago, I went to Nicaragua on a short-term trip and left knowing God was calling me to serve him as a full-time missionary. Exactly seven years later I was able to return in celebration of God’s faithfulness to my call as a missionary candidate with BMDMI. I was able to spend some time at the Emmanuel Home of Protection, where I will be working once I have raised all the financial support needed for my ministry in Nicaragua. A few weeks ago, I attended missionary orientation and am now entering my the process of raising my support. This trip was such a beautiful reminder of why I am going to Nicaragua, as well as perfectly time motivation as I begin my support raising processes. As an incredibly poetic end to my week and as sort of a kick-off to the coming months as I prepare for my move, God provided me with my first financial partner in my ministry to Nicaragua and I was totally caught off guard. It was unexpected generosity and thank you hardly seemed adequate. I don’t think the generosity of others will every feel routine or normal and I pray that it doesn’t. I will be sharing more in the coming weeks on how you can become involved in my ministry to Nicaragua through financial partnership.  Until then, I will leave you with some of my favorite photos of the past week. It’s been a good one. ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage,Image.

Leave a Reply

